Day 12 – Soda saga

12 01 2010

As I type, Scott is in the living room trying out one of my recorded “Classical Stretch” shows. He is a very strong runner, but wants to add more stretching to help with some frequent pains.

Today, Miranda is stretching on a golf course, so that seems like an okay guy thing to Scott. I’m not sure he’s ever done some of these moves before! Ooops – I’m not supposed to watch!

Today reminded me that in Colorado beautiful sunshine can interrupt the bitter-cold of winter (December was the 7th coldest on record here since they started writing things down) and almost feel like spring. 55 degrees called for a 4-mile run through my neighborhood. I would love to get to 5 miles by Sunday – we shall see.

Since I work on the computer and read a lot of news to make a living, I tend to get distracted by random articles that I need to share. Today, I found this blog with an ad running in New York City to encourage people to give up soda and other sugary drinks. It’s pretty gross, but if you ever drink soda, you should watch: http://www.takepart.com/news/2009/12/26/new-years-resolution-quit-drinking-fat-in-new-york I am pretty sure I should show that to my kids in case they want to start drinking soda.

As a diabetic, I am proud to say I have only had one non-diet soda in the past 27 years (accidentally, when I bought the wrong package of Sierra Mist a few months ago – and wow did that spike my blood sugar quickly). I am trying to cut back on diet soda too – thinking I’ve had enough Saccharin, Nutra Sweet, Splenda, etc. to cause some internal damage I hope I never have to see on YouTube. 

Changing eating habits is a constant goal for me — but that’s a whole blog for another day. I am finding that daily exercise helps me drink more water, choose an apple over crackers for a snack and think twice about what I pull out of the fridge for family dinners. Maybe my whole family will end up healthier thanks to my little project. Especially if Scott makes it to the end of this stretching show and watches the soda ad!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

