Day 17 – Off and running

17 01 2010

More than two weeks into this and I’m ready to make a commitment. It’s not easy to find time every day for exercise, but I am doing it with only 348 more days to go. Since that really sounds like forever, I need a shorter term goal.

I decided on today’s 4.3 mile run that I’m going to run my first half marathon, which is scheduled for the very day I turn 40 – May 16. How could I not? I’ve wanted to do this for a long time, but worried about training in winter weather. And I wasn’t sure I wanted to spend my birthday eve (also our 11th wedding anniversary) going to bed early in prep for a race.

But I’ll have many more years to celebrate anniversaries and birthdays with toasts, nice dinners and sleeping in. This year – it just seems like the right thing to do.

The Colfax Marathon/Half might just be the most boring route ever mapped. The half course goes 6.5 miles east on Colfax Ave. I think it is really the longest road in America at 26 miles long. You turn and head west on 17th Ave. – a parallel street. On the way back you at least have a mountain view, but staring straight ahead for over an hour before you turn seems crazy!

After working up to 9 miles last fall for a leg of the Denver Marathon relay, I felt like I could do 13. Maybe not that day exactly – but someday. Why not choose a big birthday? It might be the best birthday since my 16th, which fell on prom night, and – of course – our first day as a married couple in 1999.

I actually have more reasons why not to do this, but I’ll save those for other days as I work through them. Right now I need to publish this post before I chicken out!

Actions

Information

3 responses

18 01 2010
Jo-Anna

Wow! That is a very cool way to spend your birthday. I admire your determination.

19 01 2010
Christy

I went to your FB page when I saw your cute family beach pic and found this awesome blog! Running your first half on your 40th is a fantastic idea! I got so much out of training for and running the half in Parkersburg last year. You will no doubt benefit from exercising 365 days in a row, too! I can’t wait to read about it. Thanks for the motivation!

19 01 2010
Kelly

Thanks Christy – YOU motivated me when you did the half! Thanks for reading too : )

Leave a Reply

